Let Us Pray

I don’t know about you, but I always struggle with feeling I don’t pray enough. Or long enough. Or even good enough. “Why don’t my prayers sound like his prayers?” “He must REALLY love God to pray like that.” I often feel like my prayer life is short, rushed, and shallow at best. Which makes me feel ashamed and even a little embarrassed. I’m a pastor, I should know how to pray like a professional! At least that’s what the little voice inside me tells me.

Insert the book Talking with God by Adam Weber. I was initially intrigued by the title but it was the subtitle that sold me on the book. “What to say when you don’t know how to pray.”

That is me! That’s exactly how I feel…at least most of the time. I know I should pray. And I even want to pray. But sadly often I don’t know WHAT to pray. I’ve tried different formula’s. Like the A.C.T.S. prayer model. A.C.T.S. is an acronym for Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, and Supplication. That works, at least for a while. But over time it becomes mundane. Almost a little too familiar and I tend to pray for the same things over and over every day.

I admit I tend to be a creature of habit. I find something that works and I just stick with it. Which admittedly isn’t very exciting. So I try to break out of that and try something new. However, I am also a little ADD and am easily distracted. For example, I am writing this blog while sitting at a coffee shop and am currently struggling to stay focused on the topic of prayer and the conversation of the young people at the bar which is going back and forth from a game show from the 70’s (which they cannot remember the name of and only remember because of YouTube clips) and the interesting names of dogs on Pinterest.

Anyways, back to the book, I knew I had to pick up a copy and read it to finally find the secret to a successful prayer life. I just knew that Adam Weber had the answers that I had been looking for. After all, he hadn’t written a book about prayer, he must be an expert right? Sadly, I was mistaken. He is not an expert. And I have to admit that at first I was a little disappointed. However, the more I read, I began to realize that I’m not alone in my feeling of having an inadequate prayer life. And surprisingly it’s not as difficult as I was making it.

Adam writes on page 48, “Don’t try to sound all prim and proper. Don’t use strange religious words. Just talk with God.” That’s it. It really is that simple. So if it’s that simple, then why do we struggle so much with talking to God? Maybe, just maybe it’s because we don’t see prayer as a priority in our lives. Adam writes on page 61, “Instead of making excuses, we have to get to the place where we so clearly realize our desperate need for talking with God that it becomes a priority.”

I want to get to the point in my life where prayer is so vitally important to me that it physically hurts when I don’t spend time with God in prayer. As David writes in Psalm 42, “As the deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.” (42:1-2 ESV) That’s what I long for anyways. How about you? Do you long to spend time with God I prayer? To get closer to The Creator then you ever have before? Then let me suggest you try something. Just do it! Don’t feel like you have to have a perfect prayer life or that you have to have it all figured out. Let me break it to you, that will never happen. Just begin now. Start spending time with your Father now. Talk to Him like your talking to a friend. You’ll be amazed how spending time regularly with God will cause you to want to spend more time with God. As Mother Teresa famously said, “The more you pray, the easier it becomes. The easier it becomes, the more you’ll pray.”

1 Comment »

  1. Terry A Quadnau Jr Said:

    The struggle for me comes in making it a dialogue. I can go to God with thanksgiving and praise and share a concern. But, it seems to end there for me. It seems that if I ask a generic question, I hear a scripture in my head. But if I ask a question not covered by scripture or try conversation, maybe casual chit chat type stuff, I hear nothing. It’s like I am talking to myself. After a minute or two that gets boring and prayer has become an unpleasant experience.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

